VKontakte.DJ
forum traveling
Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?
Power through a bow (1 viewing) (1) Guest
Current Rules Questions
Go to bottom Favoured: 0
TOPIC: Power through a bow
#13742
Power through a bow 3 Years, 3 Months ago Karma: 1  
When I put an invocation onto an arrow what are the mechanics behind it?
There are two reasons I ask:
With a death pact the range is 'special' if I put a touch of evil into an arrow and hit what happens with the pact? Does it fly through some connection I have to the arrow and get me or does it try to kill the arrow?

If there is no connection to me would something like life drain, which is touch, fail?

So, is there some kind of bond from the arrow to me or is the arrow simply 'charged' and once I fire there's no longer any connection?
Malice (User)
Rune-Wielder
Posts: 29
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Logged Logged  
 
The administrator has disabled public write access.  
#13744
Re:Power through a bow 3 Years, 3 Months ago Karma: 14  
There's no connection back to you. I can't think of anything that would effect you if you shot something with an arrow...

I very much doubt something like life drain would work through an arrow, again because of the lack of connection.

In HQ there's also very little that effects you if you walk up and hit something either, apart from the odd bit of weirdness like Steel Elementals breaking weapons/stunning your arms.
adamtennant (User)
Pain is your friend
Moderator
Posts: 686
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Gender: Male Location: Mordhaus
Logged Logged  
 
Last Edit: 2014/07/06 19:09 By adamtennant.
 
The administrator has disabled public write access.  
#13745
Re:Power through a bow 3 Years, 3 Months ago Karma: 12  
My reading of "Archer Priest" would suggest that the Death Pact would trigger successfully. It states that the invocation is cast on the bow, not the arrow, and then goes on to state that "the invocation cast onto the bow will be released upon the target as if they had been touched with two hands by the caster."

So if the invocation works in the same way as usual, I'd say that includes the Death Pact. Then again, I'm not a ref, so what do I know...

At some point I expect Shaun or Bruce or one of the other grown ups will notice this and clarify...

P
philwood (User)
Scrivener
Posts: 460
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Gender: Male Location: oxford Birthdate: 1971-08-20
Logged Logged  
 
The administrator has disabled public write access.  
#13747
Re:Power through a bow 3 Years, 3 Months ago Karma: 20  
Having just re-read Deathpact I would concur with Phils description. There is no requirement in the Deathpact for their to be any other connection than "did you just cast a touch of evil on my high priest". It would also trigger (For example) from a "Mass Touch of Evil" in the same manner. The magic word here is 'Special'

That said Deathpact is pretty uncommon so I wouldn't let it put you off using Touch of Eeeevil through bow (besides surely touch of evil targets are the 'second spearman to the right' types which are even more unlikely to have it given that it is High Priests of Evil only (and specific deathl specialist types at that!)

The arrow doesn't have a connection to you as such so life-drain etc won't travel "through" an arrow and in to you though.

As always player ref will call it on the day but that's my read.

Shaun
shaunmcnally (User)
Calligraphus
Posts: 750
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Gender: Male Shaun shaun.mcnally@hotmail.co.uk Birthdate: 1979-03-14
Logged Logged  
 
The administrator has disabled public write access.  
#13748
Re:Power through a bow 3 Years, 3 Months ago Karma: 14  
Well that'll teach me to comment on a rules thread just going by memory and not actually re-reading the relevant rules.

Having read said rules the "no-connection" point has no relevance. The Archer Acolyte/Priest rule states that the invocation is cast on the bow and, as Phil pointed out, is the same as if you cast it by touching the opponent so by that logic I see no reason that a Life Steal invocation wouldn't work. (it does totally suck so I have no problem with that )
Life Leech or Power Steal (just noticed the inconsistent wording there, Power Steal should be called Power Leach to be the same as Life Leach which has a similar effect) have a requirement for continuous contact so are not possible as the Archer Acolyte/Priest skill only gets around the touch issue and doesn't imply any further contact.
adamtennant (User)
Pain is your friend
Moderator
Posts: 686
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Gender: Male Location: Mordhaus
Logged Logged  
 
The administrator has disabled public write access.  
#13749
Re:Power through a bow 3 Years, 3 Months ago Karma: 20  
Doh! I was thinking monsters who were draining life on you hitting them rather than the invocation of the same name being cast by you (sorry - not entirely sure how I reached that esoteric assumption though).

Life Steal / Power Drain = Fine that would work as normal (It does damage and cures you or immediately take the power out of the target)

Life Leech / Power Steal = Would fail after the initial "hit" as you have to keep contact for it to continue to suck the life/power from your opponent in the same way if you touched them and took your hands away.

Shaun

I yes I concur the naming is really inconsistent!
shaunmcnally (User)
Calligraphus
Posts: 750
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Gender: Male Shaun shaun.mcnally@hotmail.co.uk Birthdate: 1979-03-14
Logged Logged  
 
Last Edit: 2014/07/07 10:59 By shaunmcnally.
 
The administrator has disabled public write access.  
#13751
Re:Power through a bow 3 Years, 3 Months ago Karma: 14  
what he said
bruced (Admin)
null
Admin
Posts: 421
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
null null null null null null Location: null
Logged Logged  
 
The administrator has disabled public write access.  
#13777
Re:Power through a bow 3 Years, 3 Months ago Karma: 1  
Thanks guys that helps a lot, or will when I get to 128th
mikelester (User)
Rune-Wielder
Posts: 29
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Logged Logged  
 
The administrator has disabled public write access.  
Go to top

Have you noticed a problem with this website? If so, please e-mail one of our web team, who will fix it
admin@heroquest-larp.co.uk

© Copyright 2009-2014, All Rights Reserved