VKontakte.DJ
forum traveling
Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?
Call Clarification (from the membership letter) (1 viewing) (1) Guest
Current Rules Questions
Go to bottom Favoured: 0
TOPIC: Call Clarification (from the membership letter)
#377
Re:Call Clarification (from the membership letter) 8 Years, 9 Months ago Karma: 26  
adamtennant wrote:
Out of interest Sarah, what do you call when you cast unlimited blindness and what has been your experience of monsters reactions?

I call "blindness unlimited ranks".

Experience of monster reactions - it has been great!! As with any effect, you have to pick your target (i.e. a monster you think will understand the call) and best not pop it on the hard main guy in the middle. My favourite experience has to be tipping off Lathrodec & Erf about the need to slay the blinded opponent, only for Verrick to rush over, cure the sightless enemy, start beating up Lathrodec with his sword, and Sir Clavados needing to intervene in what turned into a big blue scrum!! Ace!!!

No, I meant invalid, as in void, because it doesn't apply to players as they don't do unranked effects.

I am impressed/relieved Darrell has bit his tongue on responding to this, lol!
sarahb (Admin)
null
Moderator
Posts: 1758
graph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
null null null null null null Location: null
Logged Logged  
 
The administrator has disabled public write access.  
#380
Re:Call Clarification (from the membership letter) 8 Years, 9 Months ago Karma: 12  
Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah! Every time I read a new post I agree with that person! Adam's right, now Darrel's right, now Shaun, Sarah! Now Darrel again!! Everyone's right!!

Okay, I've lost the ability to think for myself. Can someone just tell me when it's over. And then tell me what to do next time I'm out...

philwood (User)
Scrivener
Posts: 460
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Gender: Male Location: oxford Birthdate: 1971-08-20
Logged Logged  
 
The administrator has disabled public write access.  
#390
Re:Call Clarification (from the membership letter) 8 Years, 9 Months ago Karma: 14  
Darrell wrote:
(e.g. is the sleep 'unlimited' in so far as it lasts forever?).
I don't see how on earth you could parse "blindness unlimited ranks" as meaning that the duration was unlimited unless you somehow managed to infer that "ranks" was a measure of time.

And the "Blindness, X Ranks" is a much more common call than an unranked effect and I've been playing over three years now and I still struggle with the ranks part. (but that's probably just me)
So yes, a new player is more likely to understand an unranked effect but unranked effects don't usually get thrown at low level characters anyway.
Having said that, with no actual "low" events as such it might get more common nowadays.

Sarah wrote:
I call "blindness unlimited ranks".
Experience of monster reactions - it has been great!!

The prosecution rests, my Lord.

L8R,
Adam.

P.S. Sarah, shouldn't it be "Blindness unlimited hits" against monsters as they mostly don't have ranks?
adamtennant (User)
Pain is your friend
Moderator
Posts: 686
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Gender: Male Location: Mordhaus
Logged Logged  
 
Last Edit: 2009/02/17 00:08 By adamtennant.
 
The administrator has disabled public write access.  
#393
Re:Call Clarification (from the membership letter) 8 Years, 9 Months ago Karma: 26  
adamtennant wrote:
'I call "blindness unlimited ranks".
'Experience of monster reactions - it has been great!!'
The prosecution rests, my Lord.


Hardly - I firmly agree with Darrell and Shaun:
(a) It's a once-per-fight thing, not an every-blow-with-sword thing.
(b) I call it as it's an invocation, not an effect. PLUS I need to convey the fact it's not a black magic spell that could be dispelled.

Those meanie monsters striking you with a sword last weekend weren't casting an invocation each time they hit you. They just had the capability to blind you. Because they could.

From a practical point of view, I also think monsters have enough to remember (x hits, y power, z damage + other misc effects) without needing to tag on the words "unlimited ranks" with every blow for the sake of the odd player who can quickly be brought upto speed by the player ref.

P.S. Sarah, shouldn't it be "Blindness unlimited hits" against monsters as they mostly don't have ranks?

In theory. Fortunately the monsters I've cast it on are capable of role-playing the effect correctly.

Sarah
sarahb (Admin)
null
Moderator
Posts: 1758
graph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
null null null null null null Location: null
Logged Logged  
 
The administrator has disabled public write access.  
#395
Re:Call Clarification (from the membership letter) 8 Years, 9 Months ago Karma: 14  
Sarah wrote:Those meanie monsters striking you with a sword last weekend weren't casting an invocation each time they hit you. They just had the capability to blind you. Because they could.
You're not trying to tell me it was a Warrior ability now are you? I don't remember seeing Resist Blindness as an ability on my Warrior's battleboard alongside Resist Knockback.

I'd prefer if it was because then I'll be able to avoid it soon.

Sarah wrote:
(a) It's a once-per-fight thing, not an every-blow-with-sword thing.
Immaterial. Unless those guys really WERE doing blindness as a Warrior ability not a spell-effect cast through their swords.

(b) I call it as it's an invocation, not an effect.
Oh. So you have an invocation called "Blindness Unlimited Ranks"? Interesting that someone thought to name it that...

PLUS I need to convey the fact it's not a black magic spell that could be dispelled.
That call doesn't do that. It does convey that it can't be stopped though. Which is an excellent reason for having the "unlimited ranks" addition on other stuff.

Which neatly leads on to another call-related issue I have: If Toshiro gets hit with a bone break, I currently can't tell if it's a Warrior ability (which currently breaks my limb) or the neutral invocation (which I can Kai off). This is assuming both are done with a two-handed weapon. A one handed bone break is almost certainly the Warrior ability.
Any suggestions for that one? Maybe call Bone Break 6 for the invocation? (or whatever the rank is, I forget)

L8R,
Adam.
adamtennant (User)
Pain is your friend
Moderator
Posts: 686
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Gender: Male Location: Mordhaus
Logged Logged  
 
The administrator has disabled public write access.  
#397
Re:Call Clarification (from the membership letter) 8 Years, 9 Months ago Karma: 26  
Adam,

This hair-splitting is tiring...

The black magic spell is ranked - if I cast Blindness 100 hits or whatever, the monsters know (from the rules) that this is a magic effect that can be dispelled.

The evil power version is not ranked. Hence I make the call to avoid confusion, as quite a few monsters are aware I cast both black magic & evil power. This is not the case for everyone.

Stop thinking of monsters in player terms. Some nebulous creations aren't statted with "Warrior" skills, they are amorphous dark blobs that weaken, blind and do generally unpleasant things to you because that's what shady blobs do. It's not because the undead creations of Otion Wraithchild have spent time at the Agothian guilds learning how to do a Blindness with every strike or whatever.

Sarah
sarahb (Admin)
null
Moderator
Posts: 1758
graph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
null null null null null null Location: null
Logged Logged  
 
The administrator has disabled public write access.  
#399
Re:Call Clarification (from the membership letter) 8 Years, 9 Months ago Karma: 26  
Incidentally, the "In-game effects list" makes this quite clear (and has been on the old & new website for quite some time):

www.heroquest-larp.co.uk/rules/in-game-effects.html

e.g. Blindness - A blinded character cannot see. The player should close their eyes for the duration of the effect. Blindness lasts 15 minutes unless otherwise indicated when the effect is called. If a Player Rank or number of monsters hits is called after the Blindness effect is called then it should be assumed to be a Blindness Spell unless otherwise indicated. If no Player Rank or number of Monster Hits is called after the Blindness then the target should assume that the Blindness affects them, is not a spell and cannot be dispelled (although it may be removed in other ways, such as a Cure Blindness invocation).
sarahb (Admin)
null
Moderator
Posts: 1758
graph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
null null null null null null Location: null
Logged Logged  
 
The administrator has disabled public write access.  
#402
Re:Call Clarification (from the membership letter) 8 Years, 9 Months ago Karma: 7  
adamtennant wrote:

Which neatly leads on to another call-related issue I have: If Toshiro gets hit with a bone break, I currently can't tell if it's a Warrior ability (which currently breaks my limb) or the neutral invocation (which I can Kai off). This is assuming both are done with a two-handed weapon. A one handed bone break is almost certainly the Warrior ability.
Any suggestions for that one? Maybe call Bone Break 6 for the invocation? (or whatever the rank is, I forget)


FYI, it's not possible to resist the invocation because it's self only. The user casts the invocation on him/herself, and it provides him/her with the ability to perform a bonebreak (which is not itself an invocation) within the specified time frame.

Best,

Darrell
darrell (User)
Scrivener
Posts: 429
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Logged Logged  
 
The administrator has disabled public write access.  
#404
Re:Call Clarification (from the membership letter) 8 Years, 9 Months ago Karma: 22  
Actually there is a Touch invocation in the Reapers sect list that is cast upon your opponent as opposed to the Grey Gauntlet version cast on yourself which lets you do a weapon blow Bonebreak.

So the answer to Toshiros conundrum is
* Weapon Blow Bonebreak = No resist
* Two Handed Touch Bonebreak = Resist with YAH

Again no changes to calls required.

Oh and Sarah, I can't quite believe we got to 7 pages before someone bothered to check the published rules! hah hah.

Shaun.
shaunmcnally (User)
Calligraphus
Posts: 753
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Gender: Male Shaun shaun.mcnally@hotmail.co.uk Birthdate: 1979-03-14
Logged Logged  
 
Last Edit: 2009/02/17 09:15 By shaunmcnally.
 
The administrator has disabled public write access.  
#419
Re:Call Clarification (from the membership letter) 8 Years, 9 Months ago Karma: 14  
Sarah wrote:
This hair-splitting is tiring...
I love to argue semantics of rules. Twenty years of practise as a war gamer...

Darrell wrote:FYI, it's not possible to resist the invocation because it's self only. The user casts the invocation on him/herself, and it provides him/her with the ability to perform a bonebreak (which is not itself an invocation) within the specified time frame.
Thanks for that clarification. I hadn't spotted that distinction before. That makes things simpler.

Shaun wrote:Oh and Sarah, I can't quite believe we got to 7 pages before someone bothered to check the published rules! hah hah.
While that is amusing, I'm happy with the explanation of how it works currently. I just don't agree that it's the best way. Just because something is in the rules doesn't mean it can't be improved...
It's not going to happen but I had to try.

L8R,
Adam.
adamtennant (User)
Pain is your friend
Moderator
Posts: 686
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Gender: Male Location: Mordhaus
Logged Logged  
 
Last Edit: 2009/02/17 15:09 By adamtennant.
 
The administrator has disabled public write access.  
Go to top

Have you noticed a problem with this website? If so, please e-mail one of our web team, who will fix it
admin@heroquest-larp.co.uk

© Copyright 2009-2014, All Rights Reserved